Current Members of the RAS Council

The Royal Astronomical Society is directed and managed by a Council whose members decided by elections held each year. The RAS is a charity under UK law, so the council members also serve as the legal trustees of the charity.

Details on the composition and responsibilities of the Council are given in the bye-laws. The President serves a two-year term; other members serve for between two and five years, depending on the position.

Below is a list of the current members of Council; short biographies are available for most members, and can be accessed by clicking on the name. Minutes of the Council meetings (six times a year) are provided at the foot of this page.