Membership Committee

Committee 2021


Prof Mike Hapgood (Chair)

Dr Elizabeth Day

Mr Marcus Hope

Prof Mark Lester

Ms Megan Maunder

Prof Diana Worrall

Dr Silvia Zane



At least 2 members of Council (including the Chair) as well as at least one woman, one 'young' and one 'G' Fellow. The interests of amateurs should also be considered. The Treasurer, Secretaries, and Deputy Executive Director attend as required.

Term of Appointment

Officers/Councillors serve for the duration of their office; others (excluding co-optees) for 3 years with the option of a further renewal of 3 years).

Terms of Reference/Responsibilities

1. Regularly review and make recommendations to Council to improve the recruitment and retention of members.

2. Review and where possible improve RAS services to members.

3. Manage the membership route of direct application to Council.


Meet at least twice yearly