Call for nominations - RAS Thesis Prizes 2020

Books in the RAS library
Books in the RAS library
Royal Astronomical Society

Each year the RAS recognises the best PhD theses in astronomy and geophysics completed in the UK. 

Three prizes are available: the Michael Penston prize for astronomy, the Keith Runcorn prize for geophysics, and the Patricia Tomkins prize for instrumentation science in either astronomy or geophysics. The winners receive £1000 and an invitation to present the results of their thesis at a meeting of the RAS. The Michael Penston prize and Keith Runcorn prize runners-up will receive £50 book tokens.  

Nominees must have completed their PhD (viva held and all corrections completed) at a UK university during 2020. For more details and to submit a nomination, please click on the links below:

 The Michael Penston prize, for theses in astronomy and astrophysics, including cosmology, astrobiology, etc.

 The Keith Runcorn prize, for theses in geophysics, including seismology, solar physics, planetary science, etc.

The Patricia Tomkins thesis prize for theses in instrumentation science for astronomy and geophysics - while the support is aimed at developing skills in scientific hardware such as electronics, detectors, and optics, the development of novel software specific to a hardware project will also be considered. The Patricia Tomkins prize is sponsored by the Patricia Tomkins Foundation.

The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2021.


Submitted by Nush Cole on Mon, 02/11/2020 - 13:18