Spectroscopy of Airless Bodies in wavelengths from the visible to t he microwave: Orbital, Telescopic and/or Laboratory Measurements relevant to Mercury, the Moon and Asteroids

Start Date
End Date

An RAS Specialist Discussion Meeting organised by Kerri Donaldson Hanna* and Neil Bowles (Oxford), Stephen Lowry (Kent), and Simon Green (Open University)*Contact: DonaldsonHanna AT atm.ox.ac.uk Airless planetary bodies like Mercury, the Moon and asteroids provide a unique opportunity for studying the formation and evolution of planetary surfaces, as there is no weather or liquid water altering their surfaces. Using the individual strengths of each spectroscopic technique, the composition of a planet's surface can be determined through the identification of spectrally dominant minerals exposed at the surface. Our current knowledge of surface compositions come from the analyses of 1) remotely sensed data from spacecraft and telescopes and 2) laboratory measurements of returned sample material or analogues. Join us for a day of discussion on all things spectroscopic of the airless bodies! 10.00 Registration/Tea/Coffee10.30 Opening remarks – Kerri Donaldson Hanna (DonaldsonHanna@atm.ox.ac.uk)Session 1: Mercury and the Moon - Chair: Neil Bowles (Bowles@atm.ox.ac.uk)10.35 Alessandro Maturilli, DLR (Keynote Talk) (Alessandro.Maturilli@dlr.de)'MERTIS seeing Mercury for the first time in the TIR'10.55 David Rothery, Open University (David.Rothery@open.ac.uk)'X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy of Mercury's surface and the Mercury Imaging X-ray Spectrometer (MIXS)'11.10 Huma Irfan, Birkbeck College (irfan.huma@gmail.com)'Mineralogical insights of a landing site of interest in the lunar South Pole from Moon Mineralogy Mapper (M3) data from Chandrayaan-1'11.25 Benjamin Greenhagen, APL Johns Hopkins University (Benjamin.Greenhagen@jhuapl.edu) 'Thermophysical and Compositional Properties of the Moon Revealed by the Diviner Lunar Radiometer'11.40 Elliot Sefton-Nash, Birkbeck College (e.sefton-nash@ucl.ac.uk)'LRO Diviner thermal infrared observations to constrain the presence of volatiles at the Moon's poles'11.55 Tristram Warren, University of Oxford (Warren@atm.ox.ac.uk) 'A New Instrument for Studying Directional Thermal Infrared Emission: The Oxford Space Environment Goniometer'12.10 Kerri Donaldson Hanna, University of Oxford (DonaldsonHanna@atm.ox.ac.uk)'Characterisation of Airless Body Analogues Under Simulated Near-Surface Conditions Across Thermal Infrared Wavelengths'Session 2: Asteroids and Comets - Chair: Simon Green (Simon.Green@open.ac.uk) and Stephen Lowry (S.C.Lowry@kent.ac.uk)12.25 Josh Emery, University of Tennessee (Keynote Talk) (jemery2@utk.edu)'Compositional and Physical Characterisation of Asteroids using Near- and Thermal-Infrared Remote Sensing Measurements'12.45 Stephen Lowry, University of Kent (S.C.Lowry@kent.ac.uk)'Thermal Modeling of Asteroids'13.00 Lunch14.00 Ashley King, Natural History Museum (a.king@nhm.ac.uk)'Linking meteorites and asteroids with IR spectroscopy'14.15 Colin Snodgrass, Open University (Colin.Snodgrass@open.ac.uk)'Searching for water ice in the Kuiper Belt: NIR photometry on objects too faint for spectroscopy'14.30 Alan Fitzsimmons, Queen's University Belfast (A.Fitzsimmons@qub.ac.uk)'How wet are the asteroids?'14.45 Stefano Bagnulo, Armagh Observatory (sba@arm.ac.uk)'Spectropolarimetry of Comets and Asteroids'15.00 Neil Bowles, University of Oxford (Bowles@atm.ox.ac.uk)'Current data sets and future space based mission and instrument opportunities'15.15 Wrap-Up Discussion – Simon Green (Simon.Green@open.ac.uk) and Stephen Lowry (S.C.Lowry@kent.ac.uk)15.30  Tea will be available in the Lower Library of the Geological Society for those attending the Open (Monthly A&G) Meeting of the Royal Astronomical Society