RAS Ordinary Meeting

Start Date
End Date


Presentation of the Gold Medal to Professor Chris Chapman, the Eddington Medal to Professor James Binney, and the Winton Capital Award to Dr Katherine Joy.

Talks will then be given by

Winton Capital ‘A’ Award Winner
Dr Baojiu Li (Durham University)
Numerical simulations of theories of dark energy and alternative gravity

Winton Capital ‘G’ Award Winner
Dr Katherine Joy (University of Manchester)
Unravelling the temporal history of the Moon

Harold Jeffreys Lecture
Professor Bob White (University of Cambridge)
Building the dynamic crust of Iceland by rifting and volcanism