Patrick Moore Medal for Education (A/G)

The Patrick Moore Medal for Education

The Patrick Moore Medal is awarded for a particularly noteworthy contribution to astronomy or geophysics by school teachers e.g. by significantly improving examination results, running an active outreach programme or engaging students in extra-curricular projects. The Medal is normally presented at the next National Astronomy Meeting, or if this is not possible, at one of the Society’s A&G meetings.

Suggestions are invited from anyone, including teachers who wish to propose themselves. There is no need to be a member of the Royal Astronomical Society. Nominees should be qualified teachers who normally teach at primary or secondary level. Shortlisted candidates may be asked to provide additional information.

To nominate for the Patrick Moore Medal

Nominations should be submitted by the last Friday in September for the following year's awards and should include:

  • The online nomination form below
  • The case for nomination (maximum length 250 words). This should include details of the work of the nominee, the number of students and others they engage with and related wider community activity.

Please fill out a form here

Previous Winners

2019 Mrs Angela Bentley

2018 Ms Jenny Lister

2017 Mr Tim Browett

2016 Mr Steve Bush

2015 Ms Sarah Llewellyn-Davies

2014 Ms Hayley Flood

2013 Dr Bernie Tedd

2012 Dr Becky Parker