

Herschel Medal Winners

The Herschel Medal is awarded for investigations of outstanding merit in observational astrophysics. The medal was first awarded in 1974. The medal has been shared twice, in 1977 and 1986.

Year Winner

- 2020 Robert Fender
- 2019 Nial Tanvir
- 2018 Tom Marsh
- 2017 Simon Lilly
- 2016 James Dunlop
- 2015 Stephen Eales
- 2014 Reinhard Genzel
- 2013 Michael Kramer
- 2012 Mike Irwin
- 2010 James Hough
- 2008 Max Pettini
- 2006 Govind Swarup
- 2004 Keith Horne
- 2001 Patrick Thaddeus
- 1998 Gerry Neugebauer
- 1995 George R. Isaak
- 1992 Andrew G. Lyne
- 1989 Jocelyn Bell Burnell
- 1986 Albert Boggess and Robert Wilson
- 1983 William W. Morgan
- 1980 Gerard de Vaucouleurs
- 1977 Arno A. Penzias and Robert Woodrow Wilson
- 1974 John Paul Wild